The top 5 things to eat in Rio, Brazil

Do you have Olympic fever?

Heading to Rio for the Rio2016 Olympics?

If you are jet-setting to Brazil this Summer or simply sitting at home and watching the Games in the comfort of your own home, there is no other way to celebrate then eating Brazilian food

(All images and recipes From Brazil to You)

To get you an authentic and all-exclusive Brazilian guide to the food of South America – we have our Brazilian food expert, Denise Browning – founder and author of  From Brazil to You

 

So here are the top 5 things you should eat when in Brazil …

 

  1. Homemade Black Beans – a staple in Brazilian cuisine. It’s comfort food for me, something that I grew up eating on a daily basis. I enjoy it so much that I have passed my love for it on to my children.
  2. Cheddar filled Brazilian Cheese Rolls It is the traditional gluten-free pao de queijo but filled with cheddar, a trend in my home country. You can try these rolls right at the airport –
  3. Açaí Bowl The traditional recipe — eaten for breakfast and at Gyms. This has the power to transport me home by reminding me of all the unique fruits that I can enjoy in my home country and I can’t find here in the US (unless in powder form or frozen). Acai berry is one of many superfoods trending in the US.
  4. Brazilian Cream Cheese Very popular in Brazil — used as a spread on toast, to make Brazilian Mac and Cheese ormacarronada, to pair with guava paste, to fill Brazilian cheese rolls, etc). It is not easy to find the manufactured Brazilian cream cheese in the USA so this recipe is quite handy. It doesn’t contain preservatives and my recipe has been used by many Brazilians that live abroad and even those that live in Brazil because it is the closest both in taste and texture to one of the manufactured ones.
  5. Brigadeiros The most popular and beloved Brazilian sweet. It looks like a truffle but it is technically a fudge. This is everywhere and my recipe has been the most popular in Pinterest for almost 2 years

 

BONUS – When in Rio… you must quench your thirst with CAIPIRINHA

 

 

Strawberry Caipirinha (A variation of the traditional caipirinha made with lime, Brazil’s national cocktail. Down in Brazil, you can drink caipirinha made with different flavors such as strawberry, passion fruit, cashew fruit, kiwi, etc. Any Brazilian bar offers a huge array of flavors).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you so much for featuring my recipes here, Michelle! I hope you and your audience try them all and enjoy! Have a great time in Rio.

    Like

    1. MICHELLE says:

      You are amazing and very happy to share delicious recipes from a passionate cook/foodie!
      Thank you for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

