Restaurant ZONA, Budapest, Hungary

I wasn’t expecting much from Budapest I went to Prague and wasn’t very impressed with the food The constant yammering of tourist snapping photos The pretty average food that I found perhaps was my own fault but just not worth the high-acclaim However, Budapest was a breath of fresh air Very Eastern European kind of women at the crack of dawn but the friendly people that I met along the way was very nice during my visit I was lucky to stumble and find a new addition to the dining scene Restaurant ZONA It was next to the very cool Designer Hotel (Lanchid 19) that I stayed in and offered a good option for innovation in the kitchen in a very traditional and culturally ‘old’ environment / city ZONA’s chef is Krisztián Huszár (Chef Of The Year 2011), who brings Eastern and Basque flavors into modern Hungarian tastes. I really think this chef is going to make some noise in the food world… watch him and drool Although give the risotto a miss–it’s not right Brigitta Balatoni (Pastry Chef Of The Year 2012), prepares the desserts. The desserts were a little disappointing on my visit… but try the cordial The b*critic says:It’s a wine bar, although the prices are apparently cheap, the concept is to order at least 4 dishes, not including dessert Not tapas, but more substantial plates, I like the idea behind the Zona team The meals and flavours are great, worthy of a return visit for their changing menu Apparently lunch is great and cheap-o — same dinner options offered during the day but easier on the Gucci wallet The chefs are both great, they just need time to grow — The details: 1013 BUDAPEST, LÁNCHÍD UTCA 7/9. http://www.zonabudapest.com/ http://www.facebook.com/zonabudapest

Leave a Reply

